More than 1000 postcard images of Long Lake views, buildings, boats, hotels etc. on 12 disks arrived at the Long Lake Archives Building this week. Lorrie Hosley of Hoss’s Country Corner collected the postcards and loaned them to Hilary (Guy) LeBlanc for copying onto disks so the images could be part of the Town’s collection. Some are unique and rare picture postcards dating all the way back to 1905.
One example is this picture of the Sagamore Hotel dining room annex. A rare find, it shows an attractive dining area with lots of sunshine coming through a multitude of windows, overlooking Long Lake.
Another, shows campers at the reopening of Camp Onondaga in 1946. They are posed on the beach displaying their woodcraft projects: a bedside table, a bookcase and two
The dining room of the old Cobble Stone Inn taken in 1929 is a painful reminder of the day the Blarney Stone (its new name) burned down. That happened just a few years ago. Almost everyone in this town, and summer visitors as well, had dined and had a few drinks at the Cobblestone/Blarney Stone over the years.
Another remnant of the past is shown in the next picture. This dinosaur of downhill skiing, the infamous Rope Tow, carried Long Lake children up the old Sabattis golf course hill and even a few adults made it to the top.
Thanks to Lorrie Hosley for giving us this peek into Long Lake’s past. Hilary (Guy) LeBlanc, retired Conservation Officer, volunteers for the Town of Long Lake Archives. Over the years he has produced more that 100 disks containing almost 25000 images.
Abbie Verner, Archivist
Town of Long Lake
Long Lake, NY 12847